2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (bcalvanese, BillS728, APianistHasNoName, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, danno858, CharlesXX, 9 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
OP Offline
Hi all,

I a relative newbie here, so please go easy on me. smile

I see so many used Steinway pianos for sale that have been completely rebuilt, mostly older ones (over 40 years old) that I'm a little confused.

If I take a Steinway piano and spend what it takes to completely rebuild it properly and bring it back to all its glory, how is it different that starting with a "lesser" brand piano and putting the same components into it? For example, if I take a Yamaha piano that needs rebuilding and put the same components into it that the Steinway has and use the same care regulating it and voicing, etc., wouldn't the Yahama be the same acoustically and mechanically at a much lower cost?

Granted the Steinway will sell for more because of the name.

Like I said, I'm a newbie when it comes to high-end pianos, so maybe I'm missing something here.

"Applaud friends, the comedy is over." --Ludwig van Beethoven on his deathbed.
August Förster 190 Artcase
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
Devils4ever:
You're forgetting that the structure of the piano remains even after a rebuild.
Several components of the structure and design remain close to the same even after a complete rebuild.
It's important though, to know a couple things: