2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (20/20 Vision, clothearednincompo, Colin Miles, bcalvanese, booms, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 9 invisible), 1,941 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#79938 03/04/02 08:46 PM
A
ady Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hello,

I am new to piano and just bought a Young Chang U131 last month.

I managed to learn and play the Scarborough Fair and the Entertainer from the Alfred All-in-one Book.

A question I have is that whenever I use the damper pedal, I feel that the key touch is different and is noticeably lighter. I have never played piano or press the damper pedal before, so I do not know whether the change in the touch is normal or I should call for servicing already.

I will appreciate you enlightening me on this matter.

Thanks.

..ady

#79939 03/05/02 01:16 PM
B
B
Just to be 100% clear -

Are you referring to the "practice" pedal, or the sustain pedal (the one on the right)?

The practice pedal always makes the keys feel weird to me. I guess it's the price we pay for what happens inside the cabinet.

[ March 05, 2002: Message edited by: BrulBruce ]

#79940 03/05/02 01:38 PM
R
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
R
ADy--The explanation for the different touch after using the damper pedal is rather technical but I'll do it for you nonetheless.