2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, 10 invisible), 1,231 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Hi everyone,

I'm a 22-year-old British student, living in Barcelona and looking to buy an Electric STAGE PIANO! By the way, I'm new to the forums and am really impressed with them.

Here are my four main priorities (two are big ones, two not so big):

1. Obviously, that the piano feel and sound as close as possible to the real thing.
2. That it have a bunch of funky sounds and maybe even a mixer (?) -- Rhodes, Hammond, Wurlitzer, a pitch bender if possible, some sort of funky guitarish sound. I am classically trained but mostly play jazz and funk, so this is kind of a priority and I guess might be a sticking point.

3. That is be computer-compatible with a Mac -- I'd quite like to fiddle around and compose some songs and beats.
4. That it be portable - I am kind of a Gypsy and would like to be able to have it strapped on my back.

Most I've seen have been about the same price -- 1000 euros. Though I don't mind paying more if it's really worth it. I *think* if it wasn't twice as expensive as all the others, I'd probably buy a Clavia Nord 88 since it has so many fab features and emulators, nobs to fiddle with -- plus, I really love the colour! But it's bloody pricey. Who has one of these?! Professionals I suppose.