2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (brennbaer, accordeur, antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, 11 invisible), 1,823 guests, and 309 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
sun4384 Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hello.
I'm about to get a new digital piano, and my wife agreed to spend $2000 plus alpha for that.
I would really appreciate your advice and opinions. The situation is:

I'm a total beginner, but full of willingness to learn. I have been playing with a yamaha synthesizer for some time. My wife once played, but not for over decades. My son will start to learn sometime next year Fall. So, probably I'll be the major user, and next my son, and then my wife.

My wife has very low confidence in buying a digital one, but persuaded by me. She insists on getting something that LOOKS like a piano. So something like Yamaha PF500 is out of consideration. She thinks Yamaha N100 might be a good choice.

I think the key action is the most important thing to consider as a learner (GH3 or PHA 2?). The sound may not be the most important factor because I will use Ivory (it shouldn't be neglected though). I don't care at all about the extra features like different instrument sounds, song playing, etc. But I might value recording feature (esp. to the USB or SD memory).

In short, what the title says. DP with very good key action and piano-like look at $2000+ ?

8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
you might want to check out CLP240 (GH3), but it cost around $2400 more or less. $2000 range for a good Yamaha would include CP300, but it's a stage piano you don't want.

B