Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Piano Tuning
How to Tune Pianos
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Schumann's 4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Who's Online Now
127 registered members (amad23, andrea monza, anotherscott, AZNpiano, aswanson82, 33 invisible), 1,991 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#689788 - 03/15/05 02:02 AM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
dezafinado Offline
Full Member
dezafinado  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
SoCal
DAMeyn - So the PF500 doesn't use an OpAmp like most receivers and pre-amps? I hear a click (like a relay) when the headphone plug is inserted. Is this a switch redirecting the amplifier's output from the speakers to the resistors, leading to the HP jack?


I'm turnin' tricks, I'm gettin' fixed, I'm back on Boogie Street...
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#689789 - 03/16/05 09:01 AM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
DAMeyn Offline
Full Member
DAMeyn  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
Fredericksburg VA
Dezafinado: I haven't investigated that possibility, don't hear any clicks. The speakers being disconnected when the phones are plugged in might generate a click, if a relay is involved. By the way, the option of whether to have the speakers shut off when plugging in the phones is software-selectable, look at the "other setttings" menu. Not all systems use a separate sub-amp for the headphones, some just tee off the amplifier main speaker output via a 250 ohm resistor (for example) for headphones. It's not possible to measure the output resistance at the headphone jacks with an ohmeter, because there is a capacitor in the circuit to block DC current from the final power amp. Yamaha and other digipiano makers should include more tech data (listen up, dealers & techs), and at least make it and a set of schematics available on special order. My old Hammond had a complete set of schematics, which enabled me to do a lot of my own trouble shooting and repairs, and make mods as I chose. They were pretty complicated, that was before the days of large scale integrated circuits. Modern instruments should have simpler ones.


Dale the Whale
#689790 - 03/16/05 03:44 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 20
FUNNYDOGNV Offline
Full Member
FUNNYDOGNV  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 20
NV USA
The schematics of Yamaha is part of the service manual. You can get it by calling their parts line @ 1-800-854-1569, press 1 then 1 again. The manual is pretty detailed with lots of information, down to every nuts, bolts, chips, resistors, even stickers. Very good reading material if you're technically inclined and like to tinker.

The output impedence of most amplifiers can't be measured by an ohm meter, but can be measured by having the amplifier output a constant signal (e.g., 1 kHz sine wave). Attach several dummy loads, and extrapolate the impedence from the voltage across the load. Note the resistance of the load needed for a meaningful measurement can be so low it might overload the amplifier.

Don't know about PF500 specifically, but on a similar model they use power op-amp to drive the headphone output. There's a 33 Ohms series resistor between the op-amp and the jack. Since negative feedback is used the op-amp's output impedence is practically zero. Therefore the 33 Ohms become the only effective impedence.

#689791 - 03/16/05 04:42 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
dezafinado Offline
Full Member
dezafinado  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
SoCal
Quote
Originally posted by FUNNYDOGNV:
Don't know about PF500 specifically, but on a similar model they use power op-amp to drive the headphone output. There's a 33 Ohms series resistor between the op-amp and the jack. Since negative feedback is used the op-amp's output impedence is practically zero. Therefore the 33 Ohms become the only effective impedence.
Would the "similar model" be the P250?


I'm turnin' tricks, I'm gettin' fixed, I'm back on Boogie Street...
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#689792 - 03/17/05 09:37 AM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 20
FUNNYDOGNV Offline
Full Member
FUNNYDOGNV  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 20
NV USA
CLP170. But I think it's quite similar to CLP150 an P250. I doublt Yamaha would re-invent the wheel each time for something as peripheral as headphone amps. But the surest way is getting the specific schematics for the specific model.

#689793 - 03/18/05 06:45 AM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
drd Offline
Junior Member
drd  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Headphones ... what is the standard against which the specifications are derived? The 'standard head' -- so to speak.

For example, if you just run an audio sweep by applying a standard audio power level at the input to the headphone connector, it says nothing about the acoustic coupling between the headphone speaker, and the the microphone that is used as a transducer to arrive at the specification data.

That means that you might have an artifact from the acoustic coupling that is not truly indicative of the headphone response. If there were a standard test response curve from the standard head, then at least a relative comparison could be made. Brightness, bass response, position sensation, etc. are parameters that are not easy to measure, somewhat subjective, and difficult to compare.

A good standard "head" would be very useful for this.

#689794 - 03/18/05 01:12 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
trihai Offline
Full Member
trihai  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
When you use the headphone, do you hear the echo at all? I am using a Sony MDR7056. If I play one note at a time, when the sound faded away, I hear another echo sound with the same tone as the note I play. Any of you experience this? I am using the Roland FP3.

It's fine to use the headphone when I play the whole song but if I just play one note at a time then the Echo kinda bother me.

Thanks.
Trihai

#689795 - 03/18/05 02:28 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
dezafinado Offline
Full Member
dezafinado  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
SoCal
When you use headphones, everything in the sample (recording) is close-up so it's more enhanced. Try adjusting the Reverb and soundboard level. With my PF500, different settings for Reverb, Soundboard and harmonic content are used for phones and without them. I tend to lower all these attributes when I play with headphones.


I'm turnin' tricks, I'm gettin' fixed, I'm back on Boogie Street...
#689796 - 03/18/05 05:14 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
trihai Offline
Full Member
trihai  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
I turned the reverb off and the echo sound's still there. The echo sound is not that loud but I can hear it every time I play a single note. For example, if I play middle C, I will hear the sound "CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC" and then I will hear something echo "izzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz". Is that normal?

Thanks.

Trihai

#689797 - 03/18/05 05:32 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
dezafinado Offline
Full Member
dezafinado  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
SoCal
You got me there. Perhaps it's the way it was sampled. So stop playing just one note!!! Hehe...


I'm turnin' tricks, I'm gettin' fixed, I'm back on Boogie Street...
#689798 - 03/18/05 06:17 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
trihai Offline
Full Member
trihai  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
When you use the headphone with your Digital piano, do you notice that echo sound too Dezafinado?

Thanks.
Trihai

#689799 - 03/20/05 06:54 AM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Gary Joseph Offline
Full Member
Gary Joseph  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Austin, Texas
Question regarding higher impedance headphones: Will a small mixer, like a Mackie 1202, serve the same purpose in boosting the signal of headphones as a headphone amp?

Second question, regarding impedance: Will a 300 ohm set of headphones require half the signal boost as a 600 ohm set? (AKG K240DF/600ohms vs Sennheiser HD600/300ohms)


Gary
#689800 - 03/20/05 01:54 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
dezafinado Offline
Full Member
dezafinado  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
SoCal
Quote
Originally posted by trihai:
When you use the headphone with your Digital piano, do you notice that echo sound too Dezafinado?

Thanks.
Trihai
I don't notice any echos with my PF500, even with the volume at maximum. It could be that the sound of the decay on your piano sounds like an echo.


I'm turnin' tricks, I'm gettin' fixed, I'm back on Boogie Street...
#689801 - 03/20/05 02:21 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
dezafinado Offline
Full Member
dezafinado  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
SoCal
Quote
Originally posted by Gary Joseph:
Question regarding higher impedance headphones: Will a small mixer, like a Mackie 1202, serve the same purpose in boosting the signal of headphones as a headphone amp?

Second question, regarding impedance: Will a 300 ohm set of headphones require half the signal boost as a 600 ohm set? (AKG K240DF/600ohms vs Sennheiser HD600/300ohms)
Q1: Mixer should help with higher impedance HPs. If you're into HiFi HPs, a dedicated Amp is an excellent idea. This is something I'm looking into in the near future because most of the top-end HPs have higher impedance.

Q2: Ohm rating is the resistance. You also need to find out the efficiency or sensitivity rating (sound pressure level or "db SPL/mW"). It's kinda like car engines - horsepowers per liter. Assuming 2 HPs having the same "db SPL/mW", one at 300 ohms requires 1/2 the power to drive than one at 600 ohms to produce the same sound level.

Calculator: http://www.headphone-amplifier.com/calculator.htm


I'm turnin' tricks, I'm gettin' fixed, I'm back on Boogie Street...
#689802 - 03/21/05 07:09 AM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Gary Joseph Offline
Full Member
Gary Joseph  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Austin, Texas
dezafinado, Thanks for the help. I've been following this thread for a while and have found it very informative.


Gary
#689803 - 03/23/05 11:09 AM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Gary Joseph Offline
Full Member
Gary Joseph  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Austin, Texas
Just a follow-up to my own questions on this thread, and perhaps a reference to previous questions. I've just gotten a set of Sennheiser HD 600 headphones to use with my Roland RD700-SX. These headphones have an impedance of 300 Ohms, and when I plugged them directly into the keyboard, they work great, with the volume on the keyboard only about 1/3 of the way up. I'm using my mixer with them, for a bit of additional control, but the combination of signal strength from the keyboard and the 300 ohms rating of the Sennheiser seems to be a perfect match.


Gary
#689804 - 03/23/05 12:01 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
dezafinado Offline
Full Member
dezafinado  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
SoCal
Excellent HPs!

Though high impedance, they are efficient (97 db/mW). And your keyboard HP output is probably low resistance too.


I'm turnin' tricks, I'm gettin' fixed, I'm back on Boogie Street...
#689805 - 03/23/05 12:19 PM Re: What headphones do you use?  
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Gary Joseph Offline
Full Member
Gary Joseph  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 31
Austin, Texas
Quote
Excellent HPs!

Though high impedance, they are efficient (97 db/mW). And your keyboard HP output is probably low resistance too.
Yes, they really are nice. The knowledge regarding nominal impedance and signal level at the headphone jack was new to me, and guided my purchase. Much appreciation. laugh


Gary
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River & Ritmuller
Ritmuller Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
New 2017. Fazioli Models
by Zedd01. 10/20/17 03:29 PM
New Russian Piano Teacher says my technique is awful
by S'il Vous Plait. 10/20/17 02:39 PM
Piano teacher wants son to skip up a level
by lchenny. 10/20/17 02:38 PM
Can't figure out this christmas song
by Mymy. 10/20/17 02:38 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics182,401
Posts2,665,982
Members89,007
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0