2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, brennbaer, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 11 invisible), 1,867 guests, and 330 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
This is my third week on the search for a digital piano. I currently have an eye on P140 and my other eye on YDP160 which I haven't tried yet. Today I went an authorized yamaha dealer store in the area. I have to say it's a bit intimidating. :p A self-taught newbie walking though all the shiny acoustic upright and grand pianos with a budget of 2,000 bucks in her (tiny) hands.

Anyway, they don't carry YDP series. But I had a chance to play CLP220, CLP230, CLP280 and also "touched" their uprights and grand pianos in the store. (There is a moment I wish I lived there.) I didn't try any CVP series though.

So here is what I think about CLP 2xx series.

CLP220 - I don't plan to buy this after reading a lot of posts here. :rolleyes: I am not a fan of its control panel. But the main issue is that I feel the keys are "very sticky" when I press and release them. I think I feel the same way with YDP140 as well.

CLP230 - (priced at $2,100) The key action is not as "sticky" as CLP220. I feel just okay with it. I actually want to try 240 but it was not there for some reasons. (priced at $2,700 That's like from 2 years ago! But they offer Ebony finish at the same price as other finishes.)