Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Fall 2017
Who's Online Now
104 registered members (alfstan, Andy001, anotherscott, andy250, AdrianR, anamnesis, 20 invisible), 1,449 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#673250 - 02/11/08 02:36 PM Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
bupnorth Offline
Junior Member
bupnorth  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
OK I am technically challenged and trying to help my son TURN ON THE METRONOME! He needs to have it on while he practices to help him keep time. I have tried everything-even downloaded the manual off the web and I still can't figure it out! Can someone tell me VERY SIMPLY how to do it? Thank you thank you and may you have good karma!

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#673251 - 02/12/08 08:10 PM Re: Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Alden Offline
Full Member
Alden  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Portland, Oregon, USA
Wow. I just pulled the manual down, and unless somebody knows of a magic shortcut, it looks like you can forget "EASY". There is no explicit description and no direct control, so its probably going to be a matter of using the cursor buttons to navigate to the little metronome icon and hit enter and see what happens.

Can any Casio guys help here?

Cheers,
Alden


Alden Skinner
DP Technical Advisor, PianoBuyer Magazine
| VSL Imperial | Pianoteq Pro | Logic Pro |
#673252 - 02/12/08 10:58 PM Re: Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
bupnorth Offline
Junior Member
bupnorth  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks so much for trying, esp. going to all of the trouble to pull the manual down. I do hope that someone out there has the answer. It seems silly to buy a metronome separately, and standing nearby him clapping my hands doesn't seem to be cutting it!

#673253 - 02/13/08 04:16 PM Re: Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Alden Offline
Full Member
Alden  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Portland, Oregon, USA
Ok, I got it:

1. Press RYHTYM button (R side of screen)
2. Find METRONOME in RHYTHM LIST and input number with the 10-key pad (personal note: since when is Metronome a rhythm!?)
3. Adjust tempo with TEMPO buttons
4. Press START
5. Stop clapping

I don't know about "easy," but that's how it works.

Cheers,
Alden


Alden Skinner
DP Technical Advisor, PianoBuyer Magazine
| VSL Imperial | Pianoteq Pro | Logic Pro |
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#673254 - 02/13/08 10:30 PM Re: Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
bupnorth Offline
Junior Member
bupnorth  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks for the response! Now you're going to think me even more of a ditz, but I swear I scanned that list of 129 rhythms several times and did not see Metronome listed there! Am I beyond hope, or is there a possibility that maybe you tried it on a different casio model than mine??? Thank you for troubling with me.

#673255 - 02/14/08 11:03 AM Re: Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Alden Offline
Full Member
Alden  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Portland, Oregon, USA
Hmmm. Based on the one that I tried this on--I forget the model but its supposed to be the one that replaced yours--and the vague directions in the manual, this looked like the solution. Sorry 'bout that. Casio doesn't put a Rhythm or voice list in their manuals to I was guessing that the at least might be consistent with other models.

I hate to say this because its the equivalent of pulling over and asking for directions, but its probably time to call Casio support at 800.634.1895.

Please let me know how this turns out.

Cheers,
Alden


Alden Skinner
DP Technical Advisor, PianoBuyer Magazine
| VSL Imperial | Pianoteq Pro | Logic Pro |
#673256 - 02/14/08 02:20 PM Re: Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
bupnorth Offline
Junior Member
bupnorth  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
AAAArrrgghhh! I just got off the phone with Casio and their customer assistants were armed with....you guessed it THE OBTUSE CASIO MANUAL! She eventually conferred with her supervisor and came back to tell me that the metronome feature can only be used while recording. When I asked her if she could then help me figure out how to record with the metronome and then delete, she proceeded to read the instructions out of the manual to me. After jotting down the first two paragraphs, my eyes began to glaze over as she droned on and on.... My guess is that this was a flaw in their model that they improved in later models (the one that you tried it on).Anyway, I too hate to admit defeat, but I know my limitations. I am smart, but totally right brained, and so I am going to have to save up to buy a metronome. Anyway, I really appreciate the time you have taken to help me. It's nice to know that there are people out there helping others for free.
Signed,
Still Clapping

#673257 - 02/14/08 02:47 PM Re: Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Alden Offline
Full Member
Alden  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Portland, Oregon, USA
Sorry to hear that. Perhaps you can adjust a nearby faucet to drip at the required tempo when your hands get sore.

Metronomes do have their uses. I still keep my old wind-up Seth Thomas metronome around from mumble-mumble years ago when I was taking lessons. The thing still creeps me out. (I was going to say "ticks me off" but that would be awful...)

Alden


Alden Skinner
DP Technical Advisor, PianoBuyer Magazine
| VSL Imperial | Pianoteq Pro | Logic Pro |
#1995227 - 12/05/12 09:21 PM Re: Quick Casio WK-1630 question please please [Re: bupnorth]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
docusa Offline
Junior Member
docusa  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Okay, step by step to use the metronomes in Casio model WK-1630.

press:
1. power on
2. song
3. rec
4. any piano key
5. the metronomes should start. Then press the tempo key to your desire.


Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River & Ritmuller
Pearl River Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
So I emailed the composer
by JayWalkingBlues. 12/11/17 11:11 AM
New Roland Sounds
by Jitin. 12/11/17 11:01 AM
P-155 other source(s)
by Minding. 12/11/17 07:31 AM
Is there a cap on speed?
by Muhwu. 12/11/17 07:22 AM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics183,209
Posts2,678,311
Members89,262
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0