Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
What's Hot!!
PIANO TEACHERS Please read this!
-------------------
European Tour for Piano Lovers
JOIN US FOR THE TOUR!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

Who's Online Now
129 registered members (Animisha, barbaram, ando, 90125, Beowulf, Alex C, Amedeus, accordeur, 29 invisible), 1,376 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672837
08/13/06 09:12 AM
08/13/06 09:12 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
B
Bulletman Offline OP
Junior Member
Bulletman  Offline OP
Junior Member
B

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
Hi,

I'm a noob here so,..here it goes!

I'm a guitarist but,..at a yard sale today a purchased a Roland A-33 and a Kurzweil Micropiano Sound Module for $30. It seams to be all working well but I can't seem to get any sound out of the setup? I hooked up the midi cable from the keyboard to the sound module like the manual says to do and I have no sound at all. When I press a patch on the keyboard the sound module responds buy changing the # in the digital read out on the module but still no sound?? I have it plug into my amp form the module mono out 1/4" jack. So I'm asking what do I need to do to get sound out the this keyboard? It seems like everything is responding but no beautiful music coming from the speakers! I'm really bumming!!

HELP!!


I'd rather be jammin!!
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672838
08/13/06 10:56 AM
08/13/06 10:56 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,674
Spokane WA
G
gmm1 Offline
1000 Post Club Member
gmm1  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
G

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,674
Spokane WA


"There is nothing remarkable about it. All one has to do is hit the right keys at the right time and the instrument plays itself." Johann Sebastian Bach/Gyro
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672839
08/13/06 11:53 AM
08/13/06 11:53 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 849
Houston, TX
jollyroger Offline
500 Post Club Member
jollyroger  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 849
Houston, TX
Hi Bulletman,
I'm not familiar with the Roland A-33 and Kurzweil Micropiano Sound Module, but a general midi setup (using a sequencer such as CUBASE or Cakewalk) requires that you have the midi out of the keyboard to the midi in of a sound card (or in your case, the Sound Module) AND the midi out of the Sound Module to the midi in of the keyboard. Then, you'd need to send a standard audio output from the Sound Module to your amp.
Hope this helps and good luck.
Regards,
Roger


Music is the wine that fills the cup of silence.
Estonia 190 - Serial # 6561
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672840
08/13/06 12:51 PM
08/13/06 12:51 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
B
Bulletman Offline OP
Junior Member
Bulletman  Offline OP
Junior Member
B

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
Well, thank you to everyone! I think I have a bad module on my hands. I'm going to take it to Guitar center and they said it can be tested there and also the keyboard too. So, I'll see what happens.
Thanks again!!

Bman


I'd rather be jammin!!
(ad) SWEETWATER
Easy Monthly Payments on Keyboards & Synthesizers
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672841
08/13/06 04:31 PM
08/13/06 04:31 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 309
USA
pianomad Offline
Full Member
pianomad  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 309
USA
Before you spend the time and the gas money to take it out to GC, try to do factory resets on both the keyboard and the module. I hope owner's manuals came with these items. I have an A33, so I could dig out my manual if necessary.

A long shot could be a bad MIDI cable. Old cables go bad. Or the MIDI ports on either unit are messed up from years of plugging and unplugging, jiggling something loose.

Edit: actually rereading your post, I'm inclined to think there's an issue with your audio out, since the module seems to respond to patch changes. Maybe all channels have been muted, in which case a factory reset should do the trick. Or the audio outputs are faulty (Two modules I've owned in the past, the first problems to surface on both were the audio outs.) Do you get sound coming through the headphone jack?


www.elclandestinomusic.com

"Moralists have no place in an art gallery" ---Han Suyin

"Paint's not really a great thing to bring into a museum" ---Adam Sorenson, The Shape of Things
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672842
08/13/06 08:03 PM
08/13/06 08:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
B
Bulletman Offline OP
Junior Member
Bulletman  Offline OP
Junior Member
B

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
Unfortunately there is no headphone jack on the module. I even tried to plug my headphones into the (mono) output on the module and still nothing!! It's not the keyboard because I can change patches and the module responds. I even tried 3 different midi cables....all gave the same respsones.
I will give the factory reset a try (if there is one on the module) like you said.
I was looking at other modules and they are pricey!! WOW!! I did happen to find one on ebay. I purchased it for $20.00 just to see if I can get sound out of the keyboard. It's a Yamaha EMT-10. I heard these are really bad sounding but I want to make sure,...and for $20.00....what the heck!!


I'd rather be jammin!!
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672843
08/13/06 08:40 PM
08/13/06 08:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
B
Bulletman Offline OP
Junior Member
Bulletman  Offline OP
Junior Member
B

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
Well, I just read the manual for the module and there is no factory reset. I even tried the demo song within the module and no sound still. Has anyone here ever use a Kurzwiel Micropiano? If so have you had this problem?

Thank you!

Bman


I'd rather be jammin!!
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672844
08/13/06 10:40 PM
08/13/06 10:40 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 309
USA
pianomad Offline
Full Member
pianomad  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 309
USA
Sorry, sounds like the Kurzweil audio outs are DOA. My two former modules had their audio outs go bad way past warranty, and it wasn't worth it to fix since they were so obsolete.

I hope the Yamaha module you ordered works out.


www.elclandestinomusic.com

"Moralists have no place in an art gallery" ---Han Suyin

"Paint's not really a great thing to bring into a museum" ---Adam Sorenson, The Shape of Things
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672845
08/13/06 10:57 PM
08/13/06 10:57 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 309
USA
pianomad Offline
Full Member
pianomad  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 309
USA
Woops, one more thing I just thought of. Sorry for the sporadic brainstorms.

It's been a long time since I've had to deal with anything like this, so I may be way off. But I remember once during a live performance I suddenly had no audio whatsoever in the middle of a tune. I turned everything on and off, still nothing. Frustrated, I switched keyboard controllers. Still nothing. Sadly, I didn't have a backup module, so I stared in frustration at my gear and at the audience growing restless. And then the solution dawned on me.

I accidentally kicked a button on the module, which changed the MIDI receive channel. The module was essentially ignoring anything I played at the keyboard. You may want to check that your keyboard is transmitting and your module is receiving on the same channel. Your module is getting the patch changes; I've set up my rig before thinking everything was okey-dokey only to get no sound even when the module was understanding every patch change. The solution always involved channel transmit/receive.


www.elclandestinomusic.com

"Moralists have no place in an art gallery" ---Han Suyin

"Paint's not really a great thing to bring into a museum" ---Adam Sorenson, The Shape of Things
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672846
08/14/06 03:24 PM
08/14/06 03:24 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
B
Bulletman Offline OP
Junior Member
Bulletman  Offline OP
Junior Member
B

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
Well, I'll give that a try! I hope that does it!

Anyway else to see if the keyboard is working without a module?


I'd rather be jammin!!
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672847
08/14/06 10:34 PM
08/14/06 10:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 110
MI
S
synthnut Offline
Full Member
synthnut  Offline
Full Member
S

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 110
MI
There's no way to test A33 without a module,
or module without a controller.
Make sure midi channals match.
Bring up volume via A33
Check audio cord wires for bad solder.
Make sure audio cord is in the corect input/output
Midi cord is "out" on A33----"in" on module.................................. MAKE EXTRA SURE sustain pedal IS NOT plugged into expression pedal on A33
Test amp with another instrument/mic or stereo
Or test set-up with another amp/stereo
Determine weather problem is the set-up or amp and only then we can proceed with possible midi parameters that may be the problem.
HOWEVER, 30 bucks for both, I'm sure one or both need repair.


Retired Prototype Engineer,Auto Ind. Longtime professional piano/multi keyboard player and recording. 35 years tuning/restoring, A deep passion for high end grands and woodworking. Currently have 1921 Steinway B and countless multi keyboards/drums/guitars in my studio
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672848
08/15/06 05:53 PM
08/15/06 05:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
B
Bulletman Offline OP
Junior Member
Bulletman  Offline OP
Junior Member
B

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
Ah! Does the keyboard have to have an expression or Sustain pedal to operate? I don't have one. Also, How the heck do I turn the volume up on the keyboard itself? It doesn't have a volume control!!
Thanks everyone for helping me out here! I'm lost when it comes to keyboards!!

Bman


I'd rather be jammin!!
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672849
08/16/06 12:40 AM
08/16/06 12:40 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 110
MI
S
synthnut Offline
Full Member
synthnut  Offline
Full Member
S

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 110
MI
I use an A37,,, I believe they are simular.
Pedals are not needed, however, piano without a sustain pedal sucks.
Your A33 has volume control, and you must make sure it's value is up/127
make sure midi channals match,{see below for info.} and you are NOT in split mode.
To ajust volume it's tricky,,,,,,,,
Push "DATA" edit button, then quickly {while flasing} push button labeled volume , it should display a value number between 0-127 use up-down buttons on right side THIS IS YOUR VOLUME CONTROL bring volume up and then push the data/edit button to cancel out of edit mode.
This is simular/same to the way to set midi channals. push "DATA" button under edit, quickly {while still flasing} push button that says the word CHANNEL, then use up-down buttons to ajust, after selection, push the channel/button again to cancel out of edit mode.
NOTE_Remember if a button remains lighted in edit section keyboard will not transmit/work.
NOTE-remember to store these settings for your selected patch number, or it will haunt you on next power-up, or patch number change.
You need to read and understand the A33 and how midi works, I would take them to GC if I were you, they will help you sort it out. good luck


Retired Prototype Engineer,Auto Ind. Longtime professional piano/multi keyboard player and recording. 35 years tuning/restoring, A deep passion for high end grands and woodworking. Currently have 1921 Steinway B and countless multi keyboards/drums/guitars in my studio
Re: Roland A-33 Help...Please!!... #672850
08/17/06 06:07 AM
08/17/06 06:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
B
Bulletman Offline OP
Junior Member
Bulletman  Offline OP
Junior Member
B

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
new jersey
Well, I got the other module and everything is ok now...Piano is working and sounds pretty good. The Yamaha EMT-10 kinda sucks but it works! When I get some extra cash I'm going to get a good module! Any suggestions?? I only paid $19.00 for the yamaha on ebay...soo...all together for the keyboard and new module it was less than $50 for it all...so I can't beat that!!!
Thank you everyone for all your help!!

Bman


I'd rather be jammin!!

Moderated by  Piano World 

(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
(ad)
Sweetwater - Keyboards
Sweetwater
ad
Jazz Piano Online
Jazz Piano Lessons Online

New Topics - Multiple Forums
Fazioli Changes Over the Years
by Sleepingtiger. 01/22/19 11:07 AM
p515/clp685 vs cp88
by Jitin. 01/22/19 10:16 AM
Twinkle or Moonlight?
by MrsD. 01/22/19 04:16 AM
My LTCL Repetiore
by Jaguarinoff. 01/22/19 03:31 AM
Hailun & Room Size
by Katie-eights. 01/21/19 09:52 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums40
Topics189,725
Posts2,784,650
Members92,193
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Please Support Our Advertisers
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

Sweetwater

PianoTeq Petrof
Piano Buyer Spring 2018
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2018 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2