2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (20/20 Vision, clothearednincompo, Colin Miles, bcalvanese, booms, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 9 invisible), 1,941 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#660176 05/02/08 01:57 PM
OP Offline
I hope there is someone out there who can help me. As part of my recent downsizing into an apartment, I had to, with great sadness, sell my Steinway baby grand which I had been playing for over 30 years.

I devoted a month to shopping for a digital to replace my Steinway. After reading everything on- line and trying out every model I could locate, I identified the Roland FP-7 as the piano for me.

Brought it home and loved playing it - loved the way it performed, the sound, the look. For about 4 days. Then the pain in my hands, especially my left, became overwhelming. I stopped playing a week ago today - thinking I just needed some "recovery" time. When the pain hadn't abated at all by Tuesday, I returned it to the store.

I'm just beside myself, not knowing what to do. Has anyone else run into hand pain when switching from acoustic to electric? How long will it take for this pain in my hands to go away? I hope this is not permanent. By the way, my fingers are just fine.

Meanwhile, the store, Guitar Center, is sort of "holding" it for me - with all of us hoping my pain will go away. (Great Customer Service!)

The immediate plan is for me to buy the Roland again when my pain is gone and bring it home for another 14 day period (during which it can still be returned if the pain returns).