2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (Craig Hair, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, Davidnewmind, 5 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 275 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
OP Offline
A
Hello,
I'm a student working on a math project on pianos. In one section of the project I have decided to do it on the length and size of piano strings and how they relate to produce the sound.

eg. if the string is longer, the sound is more.......if the string is thicker, the sound is more.......

I need the measurements of how thick and how long the strings are from the lowest pitch to the highest pitch.
I would need the information in order to be able to draw some kind of conclusion of piano strings and how they relate to math.
Can someone plz help me and give me the information.

Thanks smile

E
E
It is not clear from your post what level you are at, and whether the project you are working on is a high school or college math project.

In any event, the equation that relates the different parameters including the effect of inharmonicity is

f_n=n*f1*(1+J*n^2)

where

n = frequency (or mode) number
f1 = fundamental frequency = sqrt(T/(4*pi*d))/(L*r)
J = inharmonicity factor = (pi^3*r^4*E)/(8*T*L^2)

in which

pi = 3.1416
T = string tension
L = string length
r = string radius
d = density of string material
E = modulus of elasticity of string material

Because this message board is not set up for equations, I have used the following symbols in the above equations

sqrt means square root
* means multiplication
/ means division
^ means power
_ means subscript