2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
28 members (clothearednincompo, crab89, Georg Z., David B, Fried Chicken, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, 8 invisible), 1,180 guests, and 290 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#595416 03/24/06 12:27 AM
A
OP Offline
A
Anyone know of any good finger exercises to help play the piano better? I'm just learning to play and the main problem is with my left ring finger. I can't hold this finger up when i have to use my pinky and middle finger to play a note at the same time. I can press it down fine but can't hold it up. I for some reason don't have this problem at all with my right hand.

#595417 03/24/06 01:50 AM
D
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
You don't want to hold it up. You just don't want to play with it. wink

Take it slow, one note at a time, with your entire "playing mechanism" (hand, wrist, arm) over every note, so that you play it solid. Eventually, you will get used to how this feels, and will no longer have the problem. (Note: "Eventually" is a time period that has different lengths for each person. wink )

Every day we are afforded a new chance. The problem with life is not that you run out of chances. In the end, what you run out of are days.
#595418 03/24/06 05:52 AM
K
KJC Offline
K
Try Carl Czerny's 50 Small Studies for the Upper Elementary Grade and 32 Studies for the Lower Middle Grade

You will find many of these useful. I have been extremely lazy for years in playing these, much to my teacher's irritation, but I've recently discovered how useful they really are. They are fun to play as well!