2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (1957, Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, 11 invisible), 1,898 guests, and 338 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#594439 06/02/03 06:00 PM
K
OP Offline
K
Allow me to introduce myself. I'm krazypaul, and i have been playing the piano for 8 - 9 years now. When i was young, I grew up in a poor family. I remember myself listening to classical music and reading about the artists, curiously wondering how they became such a great pianist. I wish i could play like them. I had no piano availible to me back then. Closest thing i could get was a small electronic keyboard.But considering my financial position, I never asked my parents to let me have paid private lessons. Here they are, working hard trying to pay the rent and other bills. So i decided to take up piano on my own. First, i saved up money to buy those beginners for keyboard books. After a few years, like 3 or 4 years, i bought another electric piano, which had arranged classical music instead of those music with chord indications, which i found boring. During my 3-4 years of development of learning how to play, i pretty much worked at my own pace, just playing songs i really liked. I never went through scales or any of the principles in knowing how to read sheet music. I couldn't apply tempo, those time signature things, and whatever other jargon that i didnt know back then. I did performed in front of people, mostly diletante musicians who found my playing profounding. I performed fairly well and since i couldn't associate the tempo with the flow of the music,