2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Barly, 1957, btcomm, brennbaer, Animisha, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, 13 invisible), 1,912 guests, and 351 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#590372 09/28/02 04:48 AM
B
B

#590373 09/30/02 12:05 PM
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
When I first "discovered" classical music (i.e., when I started playing the piano) nearly four years ago, I had some interest in Beethoven and Mozart. But it quickly (within 8 mos.) gave way to a tremendous love/obsession with Chopin's music. But things have gradually changed, although I still love Chopin. I discovered the symphonic music, and Beethoven was my favorite there (symphonies 3, 5, 6, 7 and 8 especially).

Then about six months ago, I discovered the incredible wealth of piano music from Beethoven. Now I have nearly every piano sonata of his on mp3, and can't get enough of it! Also, I've been playing the first mvmt of op.49 (the one in G-minor) for five months or so. I'm getting pretty good with it, but what's neat is that I like it more every time I play it! Like all his piano stuff, it grows on me if given the slightest chance. You may try listening to: Diabelli variations, Pathetique (op.13), The Tempest (op. 31?). Upon a few hearings of the latter two, I was mesmerized and determined to play them someday. Who knows, that could happen to you eventually.

Rick

#590374 09/30/02 08:04 PM
G
G
Originally posted by Stanza: