2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (AlkansBookcase, cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 6 invisible), 1,245 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
i'm curious what the people here know about the event i speak of in the title... i am studying with a professor who told us something very intersting about this story in masterclass last weekend... it involves argerich... smile

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Wasnt it that she was judging the competition, and when the other judges wouldnt let him through she got really ****ed off because she thought he was really good?

E
ecm Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
E
Pogorelich was eliminated very early, and Argerich refused to the other judges decission. She had no choice: Either you accept the decission or you leave country.
And she had to literally leave the country with her mother and first daughter, and army guards. Because Warsaw pact was still on, and people were tired from dictators and politics, they saw Revolution in Pogorelich. Every concert of the Competition was watched on video beam outside by many people.

I read this in many interviews and I tried to put it together.

E
ecm Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
E
Oh, would you mind telling wath the professor told you?

Thanks.

S
S