2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Barly, 1957, btcomm, brennbaer, Animisha, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, 13 invisible), 1,912 guests, and 351 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#476708 10/24/01 10:59 PM
C
OP Offline
C
Hello everyone.

I'm new here, and I'd just like to begin by saying that I'm a sophomore in college and a math/piano performance double major who has been playing for twelve years now.

So anyway, I'm thinking that next semester I want to start one of the Chopin Scherzos. I'm leaning toward Opus 31 because I've always liked that one, but lately I've been considering Opus 20 and Opus 54 as well. How difficult are each of these Scherzos? I'll definitely learn the one that is the most rewarding for my effort.

And what do you think about the Debussy Ballade? How is that one? I listened to it a few times, and I really liked it... lyrical, yet attractively melancholy.

And how manageable is Liszt's "Benediction of God in Solitude" from his Harmonies Poetiques e Religieuses? (sp?) That's number 3. I love the piece, but I don't have a copy of the score.

And just a few random questions that have nothing to do with nothing except to satisfy my own curiosity...

1. Which of the less mainstream composers is your favorite? Mine's Alkan. Especially for his Opus 39 Etudes.

2. Which, in your opinion, is the most depressing piece of music ever written? (The answer to this question does not have to be limited to piano works.) In my opinion, it's the last movement of Beethoven's Ninth Symphony.

Thanks.
CDS

#476709 10/25/01 10:45 AM
M
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M