2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, danno858, benkeys, brennbaer, DaCapoDiTuttiCapi, APianistHasNoName, 9 invisible), 1,866 guests, and 334 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
I studied the School of Velocity Op.299 in college. I've picked it back up and intend to learn the whole set now. It's really quite fun. The key is to play them FAST.

------------------------------------
Bryan
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Nothing wrong with liking Czerny, it's actually a good thing. There are some very valuable things to be learned there. Carry on the good work, and I'll buy tickets to see you at Carnegie Hall in a couple of years.

Some men are music lovers. Others make love without it.
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
When I visited the Fredericks Historical Piano Museum in Ashburnham, Mass., Mrs. Frederick commented on hte ongoing debate on the original metronome markings on some the etudes and the fact that some say they are "impossibly" fast and certain comentators have even suggested that were therefore must have been mistakenly trasncribed. But, she commented, that on pianos from Czery's time, which had much lighter action than today's modern piano, the impossible speeds suggested are in fact possible. She then went on to demonstrate, playing one of the etudes at a ridiculous velocity.

PS: I always enjoyed my Czerny studies, but must admit, I haven't opened the book for 25 years.

J
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
J
Kathy,