2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (akse0435, amc252, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, 15 invisible), 1,996 guests, and 311 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 23 of 54 1 2 21 22 23 24 25 53 54
V
V
Hi, I'm new here. I started playing piano when I was fifteen. For a few years I stoppped and now I've started up again. Piano is my second instrument, violin is my first.

I'll write a quick intro before I post my question on the board... I did the whole competitive pianist thing throughout my childhood/teens. I loved it, but later turned down a scholarship to Eastman because I just didn't want to make it my life's work, you know?

Fast-forward 25 years, and I have no regrets. I perform occasionally in local concerts and that's enough for me. (although I admit that I've had a few "wow, what if..." moments when I've heard my former competitors playing on NPR!)

I lurk on this forum semi-regularly but don't post since I am sure I lack the education of so many here. I hope someone will respond to the thread I'm about to start.

aka Lady Arabesque
YouTube Channel https://www.youtube.com/user/hayburner1969
A
A
I studied piano from age 9 to 15 and then my interest moved to other things (computers and Math, mostly). I continued playing casually through the years, and at the age of 30 I took some more lessons and got significantly better at it. To give you an idea of my skill level, I can play the first two pieces in Albéniz's suite Iberia ("Evocación" and "El Puerto") but I find the rest of the pieces too challenging.