2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, 12 invisible), 1,877 guests, and 261 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
OP Offline
P
I started playing the piano roughly a year ago. Recently I've
started to run into octave exercises and wide chords that are
difficult for me. I have small hands with short fat fingers.
I sometimes have trouble playing between the black keys, but
that is a different problem. When I started I had to stretch
to reach a 7th. I've gotten slightly more flexible and can now
stretch to an octave, but they are still not comfortable for
me. Anyway, on to my question. If I bought a piano would it
be a good idea to invest in a 7/8 keyboard, or should I wait
until I have more experience with a full size keyboard.

I realize that a keyboard of this size would not normally be
available. Would learning on it make it hard to transition
between instruments? If, for example, I wanted in the future
to pursue a music degree would it be a handicap?

thanks in advance

M
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M
If you're playing classical music I would definitely recommend a full sized keyboard because many classical songs go to the very top and very bottoms of the keyboard. If you're missing a few keys from it, it's not possible to play some of the songs.

Hm..define what you mean by a 7/8s keyboard. Do you mean the keyboard has less keys or are you talking about the keys of the keyboard are actually smaller??