2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Carey, AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, booms, 6 invisible), 1,871 guests, and 262 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
jgoo Offline OP
3000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
3000 Post Club Member
This is a prelude that I've been playing for a couple of months now. I've got the first two pages down without a mistake, but on the last page, I run into some problems. I can play it, but I leave out most of the high right hand notes. My fingers just can't always reach that far! I play only the bottom two notes of the treble clef chords, and the repeating G# note in the bass clef with my right hand. Getting the bass clef chords with my left hand is no problem. Are there any ideas on how I can improve on this?

For off-topic discussion, please feel free to visit www.coffee-room.com
Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
jgoo:

This really is a problem, because in the last 16 bars of the c# minor section the upper notes of the right hand are the melody, and what you are playing is essentially the accompaniment. I can only surmise that you have a small hand, for, except for six chords where the reach is a 9th, there is nothing more than an octave to span.