2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
53 members (clothearednincompo, Beemer, Beowulf, bobrunyan, Badger1966, Ajax69, 14 invisible), 453 guests, and 446 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Beethoven Sonata Pathetique 1st Mvmt - Tremolos
#436994 01/25/07 12:36 AM
D
OP Offline
D
Hey guys,

I started learning the Pathetique Sonata over the summer. I learned the entire 2nd movement and the first four pages of the 1st movement. I don't take private lessons or anything and so I really don't know where to turn for help.

Anyway, I am stuck on the 1st movement at the part with the tremolos (with the crossing hands). I can play the crossed hands and mordents without any difficulty, but the tremolos KILL me. At slow speeds I play them with a 2-3-2-1 fingering, but at faster speeds this fingering only works half the time. I tried figuring out some different fingerings, but none seem to really work. For those of you that can play this piece, what fingerings do you use on the tremolos??

Thanks,
Ryan

PS - Here is an alternate fingering I came up with this afternoon (it has potential, I think):

1st set: 3-4-3-1 2-3-1-3 2-3-2-1
2nd set: 2-3-1-3 3-4-3-2 2-3-2-1
repeat 2nd... repeat 1st

The last set of tremolos (group of 3, group of 3, group of 5 + 1) I just use 2-3-2-1 and it seems to work 75% of the time. At slower speeds I can get any fingering to work 100%... Any suggestions? Thanks.