2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, 5 invisible), 1,212 guests, and 257 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
S
S
I agree with you, ryan.. but not 100 %

I am an adult piano learner. Most pieces that I studied goes through these progressions;
After the 1st week, 1) All notes played correctly (~10% memorised) 2) Rhythm almost perfect at almost transcripted tempo. 3) Simple expressions like dynamics, crecendo, decrecendo attempted. 4) Simple tempo variations perfected. 5) Phrasing attempted 6)Pedaling attempted

After the second week and with the help of teacher, 1) fingering optimised thus full speed achieved, complex expressions possible 2) Simple expressions perfected 3) ambitious expressions attempted 4) Phrasing understood 5) no gross error in pedaling

And I move on to the next piece.

Currently challenges I face are: 1) expressions like "poco piu mosso", my teacher demoed it beautifully but I still unable to recreate the sense of 'agitation' during the passages. 2) Rallentando or Accelerando WITHIN one bar, there are too few notes for me to express the change in tempo. 3) My triplets tends to be louder according to my teacher, although I cant tell the different, the trick is to relax fingers, obviously I still need to work on it. 4) proper phrasing is very difficult for me for some pieces, although I can appreciate it when its demoed to me. 5) ditonic 3rd's legato is impossible, I am not surprise if my teacher uses some magic chant to play it.. smile j/k