2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 11 invisible), 1,849 guests, and 279 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#388677 09/07/01 02:06 AM
R
OP Offline
R
I would like to find out that how could a child be considered as having musical talents before attending any music lessons,if there is any? What are some of the areas that one should look up for?

#388678 09/07/01 05:32 PM
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Certainly, I'm no expert on this, but I feel like my 3-year old nephew has some sort of musical aptitude. I saw this sometime last year, when I went home for the holidays. I brought home some music the choir was working on and my nephew was sitting right next to me on the piano. I was singing and playing one of the pieces, and even though he had never heard this piece before, he seemed to know where the next note would be. So he was humming along with me. I thought that was rather amazing.

Another thing - most little kids would just bang on the piano with their whole hand (I've seen some press a whole group of keys with their palms! The poor piano!) but my nephew would actually position his hands on the piano, like he's seen me do, and he'll play one note at a time. It's still random noise, but certainly better than cacophony.