2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 11 invisible), 1,849 guests, and 279 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
hi folks.

Last time i posted here I was a trucker. Now I am bearing down on my first jury performance.

I have learned (except for some niggling 32nd notes) Chopin's Nocturne Op. 9 No. 2.

Could I get some advice on good ways to memorize? Start from the end? phrase by phrase? I am especially having trouble remembering which octave the bass notes play in; and sometimes which inversion of the chord I play on the 2-3 beat of each 1/4.

I have three weeks to get it done and practice 2 hours per day -- sometimes more sometimes less.

My other jury piece is memorized and ready to roll but I started it at the beginning of the semester and it's not nearly as complex.

Full-Time Music/Entrepreneurship Major: (Why not compose music AND businesses?)
Former Piano Industry Professional
Steinway M
Roland Atelier AT90R
All Posts are Snarky Unless Otherwise Noted
B
B
Memorization to me is really about ownership of the music; it is not a mechanical process. I recommend really trying to internalize and understand every aspect of the music. When you're practicing, pay attention to what comes after each phrase and what comes before each phrase.