2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
39 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Carey, ChristoVanRensburg, AndrewJCW, bwv543, 8 invisible), 592 guests, and 260 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
OP Offline
G
Hi all,
Given that I'm not a professional tuner but have been tuning my upright piano for 30 years, I now have a baby grand Kawai GL-10 piano that needs more frequent tuning than upright. Is it just because it's new? I don't remember these problems with the upright.
I can't just rely on a professional tuner because when a note or two start detuning and meowing, what do you do, you call him? no, of course you will call it when the piano is well detuned but in the meantime the few detuned notes are a punch in the stomach.
Also, the last three single-stringed notes, before the two-stringed ones begin, have a very nasal sound. Some advice?

Thanks to all

My music is on youtube or SoundCloud, name Giko Gomez
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
J
J
A new piano will generally go out of tune faster than a piano in good shape that isn’t new. Also, a piano that was recently moved may take some time to settle into the new environment. Also, if the grand is in a different spot of the house which is more subjected to temperature or humidity swings then that could affect it as well.