2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
75 members (Appalachian, Andrew E., Catlady, accordeur, brennbaer, 17 invisible), 918 guests, and 345 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3230920 07/07/22 04:36 AM
D
OP Offline
D
I've been playing for 9 months and got a teacher 2 months ago.

My index finger (not my pinkie) floats when I use my 4th finger. My teacher would like me to correct this and has suggested slowing down and being very conscious about keeping my fingers on the keys. I've tried this and it's painful. It can feel it in the tendons in the back of my hand and my wrist.

I tried adjusting my hand position so there is a greater arch and my fingertips rather than the pads of my fingers hit the key more. This helps slightly (but does not obliterate the problem) and introduced horrible tension in my shoulders. My wrists felt too high, my elbow too far out.

I have no idea what else to try. Is a floating index finger a serious issue? I do this in real life. I type correctly with five fingers and as I type I'm now conscious of my index finger floating up. My teacher is convinced it's tension but I'm not so sure (or not so sure that releasing tension will solve it, anyway).

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
S
3000 Post Club Member
Online Content
3000 Post Club Member
S