2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
62 members (Appalachian, Andrew E., Chris B, Catlady, 15 invisible), 971 guests, and 339 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3230364 07/05/22 08:28 AM
E
ethanw Offline OP
OP Offline
E
Hi all

(This is my first post)

Thanks for approving me smile

So I've been playing a little piano for a few years (I can play quite a few chords, the entirety of The Scientist & a few other songs)

I don't & cant really read sheet music. I've played the guitar from I was 7 (now 26). I'm at an advanced level with guitar and been lucky to travel around the globe with music (singing & guitar) and supported big bands and singers.

Basically I'm wondering how many of you play piano by reading sheet music and if you feel it is a necessity to be able to say you 'play' piano? I'm looking at getting the Yamaha P45 soon and have seen you can get the 125 for a little more however I'm pretty happy with the P45.

I think I am reasonably quick at picking things up. Learnt the intro to Your Song by Elton the the other morning in about 30 mins to be able to play it fluently. I learnt this by a YouTube video (rewind and repeat etc). What do yous think of learning via YouTube for piano?

Any advice is greatly appreciated! I think this time round I am completely ready to give it a really good go and commit to it completely.