2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Charles Cohen, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,137 guests, and 316 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
N
OP Offline
N
Hi, this is my first time on the forum so please let me know if this is not the kind of question to be asked on this forum, I apologise if so.
I am teaching myself and have realised that the easiest way for me to play/remember a right hand first inversion is to use fingers 2,3 & 5.
This is because when I am playing a triad with fifth finger on root note octave, I already have first inversion with fingers 2, 3 & 5.
I am wondering if this is bad practice although it does feel natural to me? Thanks in advance for any replies.

S
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
S
Maybe it depends on your hand size etc. Normally the thumb, index and pinky ... in that order for first inversion. The 1-2-5. If you're absolutely comfortable with your approach, and don't encounter issues now or ever .... then ok.

M
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
M
Originally Posted by Neil Hallesy
Hi, this is my first time on the forum so please let me know if this is not the kind of question to be asked on this forum, I apologise if so.
I am teaching myself and have realised that the easiest way for me to play/remember a right hand first inversion is to use fingers 2,3 & 5.
This is because when I am playing a triad with fifth finger on root note octave, I already have first inversion with fingers 2, 3 & 5.