2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
52 members (Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, 5 invisible), 1,283 guests, and 277 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
S
OP Offline
S
Hello!

I'm a newbie and so glad to have found this forum. Nice to meet you all!

I'm in the process of buying an upright piano (the first with my own money), and I would greatly appreciate some advice.

About me, my piano goals and my environment:

I learned a few years of (classical) piano as a kid, at a children's program of a conservatory. I didn't get very far--maybe early intermediate? I was last working on Mozart KVK545, Bach 2-part inventions. Then, we moved countries and I never had a piano nor took lessons again.

Fast forward twenty-something years, I would love to go back to having a piano and getting a teacher and regular practicing/playing.

I live in an apartment, with thin walls (I can hear conversations and TV sometimes, though not always). According to my co-op occupancy agreement, I can practice instruments maximum 2 hours a day, before 8pm. Of course I'll follow that, but beyond legalities, I want to be considerate and not subject my nice neighbors to loud daily practicing. Also, I'm in my place for the foreseeable future, not looking to move to a house (so would prefer an upright for space reasons).

The candidate pianos: