2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
84 members (80k, AndreaH, anotherscott, Animisha, 36251, axomas, Anevsky, BMKE, Adem, 14 invisible), 4,553 guests, and 257 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
C
C
Of course I'm not an expert and not even really that experienced compared to some people, but...my general thoughts are that tonal quality (like on a 1-10 scale of "performance") of a piano, given a decent tier in terms of brand, size, etc., is more likely to be the result of condition, prepping, etc., and that all else being equal, you really can get a nice tone on a good instrument in the mentioned ways (provided that you know how to play).

A given piano's tone may not be your absolute favorite, if you're someone who likes things a certain way or has particular taste, but a good musician can definitely make pleasing sounds to him/her relatively speaking come from even a fair instrument. Sometimes I think the marketing of pianos almost suggests that the pianos play themselves. Well, isn't this what they would like? It's just like the tennis-racquet companies or ski companies...