2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (benkeys, 1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 10 invisible), 1,847 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
Hi - I am new to the piano world and have been exploring used pianos from private sellers. They look spectacular in pics but it hasn't been used or ruined in years. Will such a piano:
1) difficult to tune?
2) take several tuning sessions to stabilize?
3) have reduce lifespan?

Thanks in advance
Sam

B
BDB Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B
The answer to all of your questions is, "It depends." (Of course, if you are planning on ruining the pianos, it hardly matters! I know, spellcheck!)

It depends on how long it has been since the piano was tuned, how old it is, what conditions it has been stored in, and similar factors.

Semipro Tech
S
OP Offline
S
How about if a 25 year old Yamaha u3 remained in the living room unused for 6 years? It was dusted but no tuning for 6 years.

W
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
W
Depends on the first 19 years!

Ian Russell
Schiedmayer & Soehne, 1925 Model 14, 140cm
Ibach, 1905 F-IV, 235cm
S
OP Offline
S
Assuming medium use with regular yearly tuning. Thanks in advance

P
P
Doesn't make a difference! The only issue are typically old, saloon style uprights that are 100 years old, OR pianos in coastal communities like Newport Beach because some of those pianos have strings as rusty as an old Impala.