2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (36251, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, 10 invisible), 1,430 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
U
OP Offline
U
I'm really curious as a student to hear how people here became fluent in pianese.

Hanon and Czerny's op.740 seem to be the common denominator. Is that the case?

B
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B
Originally Posted by Usheraname
I'm really curious as a student to hear how people here became fluent in pianese.

Nope - in fact, I never heard of them when I was a student.

I became 'fluent' (whatever that means) over my ten student years simply by learning from my teachers who gave me pieces that developed aspects of technique, plus - of course - the usual scales & arpeggios, following the ABRSM syllabus.

No studies of any sort were involved at any stage.

If music be the food of love, play on!

Platinum Supporter until November 30 2022

I'm really curious as a student to hear how people here became fluent in pianese. Hanon and Czerny's op.740 seem to be the common denominator. Is that the case?
Never did Hanon (thankfully) and only played a few Czerny studies (not from Opus 740). The only real benefit I got from Czerny was learning how to play polyrhythms (3 against 2 and 4 against 3). Had a teacher from age 13-14 who taught me scales and arpeggios. Basically learned from the John W. Schaum and John Thompson piano courses - and then started studying short classical works from age 12 on.

Mason and Hamlin BB - 91640
Kawai K-500 Upright
Kawai CA-65 Digital