2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
28 members (APianistHasNoName, crab89, Fried Chicken, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, 9 invisible), 1,217 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
OP Offline
S
Hi smile

I'm an formerly classic piano student looking for a Kawai DP (I love their sound and actions, so not really looking into other brands), but I can't decide between MP11se and CA79/99. I'm going to be playing mainly classic repertoire, including Chopin etudes and other "heavy" pieces, so action is really important for me. I'd go for the CA99 or CA79... if it wasn't because I'm going to leave it at my parents, where a MP11se can be packed and removed from the living room when I'm not there (most of the year). Is the GF (I) enough for this kind of high level classic repertoire, or is it going to be destroyed in a few months?

I've read that GF I and II tend to need repairing (sticky keys) at some point because of the screw mechanism they have compared to the GF III, which I imagine it can accelerate with heavy use.

Has anyone used an MP11se for the last years of conservatory/music school? Is it worth looking into it, or just go for a CA79/99?

Also... I might look into a less expensive model with RHIII (e.g. CN39) for my "other house" (with the aim or reselling it before moving out). Is the action that light compared to the GF actions? Is it really unsuitable to bang Chopin's Op. 10 no 1 and the likes on it?

Thanks in advance.

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Hello srodrigo, welcome to the forum.