2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, 5 invisible), 1,131 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3174600 12/02/21 05:29 AM
L
lbuizza Offline OP
OP Offline
L
Hi there,

I am looking for a piano for practice. I have a lovely grand piano back at my parents' home, but for the next year or two I have to do without it due to space reasons. I'm trying to buy an electric piano for practice (I am a classically trained pianist) but I am getting really stuck with the thousands of models. I would like to spend less than £800, so I am looking at used pianos on eBay/Gumtree as I'm not interested in the latest tech/features, just the touch (and maybe sound). I will also likely be sticking with preset sound no. 1, so don't really care about number of different pianos etc I can get.

I've narrowed my choice down to some Yamahas and Rolands. I would like to know: is buying an older piano (e.g. early 2000s) worth it? Will much have changed in terms of touch since then? Out of the list below of my local eBay pianos, which ones should I avoid or not? They are:

- Yamaha Clavinova CLP-330
- Yamaha Clavinova CLP-625
- Yamaha Clavinova CLP-760
- Yamaha Clavinova CLP-430
- Roland FP30
- Roland RP102
- Roland HP503
- Kawai CL-36
- Kawai CN-33