2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (David B, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, dh371, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, 10 invisible), 1,199 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
V
OP Offline
V
Hi everyone!

I started playing piano again two years ago after about twenty years. I was not sure if I was going to really enjoy it so I bought a not too expensive Roland F130. Now I absolutely love to play it.

The problem is that although I'm satisfied with the sound with headphones I find the sound without headphones not so good. So maybe one of those hybrid pianos is the answer to my problems: I want a piano that sounds good with and without headphones.

Now I've seen that the cheapest ones are around five thousand Euros: Kawai Novus NV5 or Yamaha B1 SC2. I have to think it twice (or thrice) before expending 5k €, so, piano players out there, Is it worth buying a "cheap" hybrid piano?

C
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
C
The "hybrid" technology per se isn't the solution to the speaker sound problem.

For example Roland has more elaborate speakers systems in some of their their HP and LX models -- especially in the LX range.

They are not "hybrid pianos" but have a slightly more upmarket key action than the F130.

Kawai CN-39, CA-59 and higher Kawai models too probably have quite a good speaker systems -- some even have a soundboard.

Probably some more expensive Yamaha Clavinova models are worth checking out too.