2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
26 members (busa, Cominut, drumour, Foxtrot3, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 6 invisible), 1,170 guests, and 281 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
A
OP Offline
A
Hello friends,

I'm no expert and trying to buy a piano for my teen kids who are learning and loving to play. Assuming the cost difference is not a main factor (all around $16k-$19k), which one of these 4 you'd recommend for beginners:

1) Seiler ED-168: My first choice so far, rich sound, and ED series is overall rated professional grade
2) Baldwin BP165: It seems the built is one of the best Chineses made Pianos
3) Kawai GL-30: Built in Japan, probably is solid and trustworthy, but the base was not keeping up with Selier or Baldwin
4) Yamaha C1: Again built in Japan, and overall safe bet.

I couldn't find any real review of Baldwin BP165 online, how come has such a small foot print for such a well built and famous brand?

C
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
C
Honestly if it's for beginners the considerations are different as any functioning piano would do the job, IMO. Instead of focusing on the quality of the piano itself, I would choose the one that is most liquid - either one that would have the least depreciation should you want to sell, or whichever is available from your local dealer that is best amenable for a trade-up. But it's a different story if you are a pianist yourself.

A rising tide lifts all the boats
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member