2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
71 members (btcomm, Ben T., benz-tech, 8ude, brdwyguy, Calavera, Abdol, AlphaBravoCharlie, An Old Square, bobrunyan, 18 invisible), 723 guests, and 449 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
T
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
T
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
Hello fellow pianists taking online lessons:

does anyone use this combination: pianoteq (or any VST) + mic in ableton live (or any DAW) that need to to fed to Zoom so that you can speak / demonstrate to your online teacher in Zoom and Co?

I could get it work using a MacBook + audio interface + Blackhole aggregate device to mix / combine in- / output but on a Windows 10 machine I'm struggling to get it done.

On Windows I'm currently trying with Voicemeeter / VB cable as aggregate devices but still no success.

Thanks in advance for sharing!

Last edited by TonyDIGITAL; 10/17/21 10:26 AM.

[Kawai VPC1 / ES100 - VSTs: VSL 280VC, Garritan CFX, VI Labs Ravenscroft 275 & Pianoteq 7 - Ableton Live Lite - Presonus iOne/iTwo - Tascam US1x2/2x2- Sennheiser HD700/6xx - Presonus E5+T10, iloud micro monitors]
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,628
Silver Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
Offline
Silver Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,628
No but I tried many setup since the pandemic and the best was with two computers. One windows 10 with zoom, two webcams and an external mic just over my head. A digital piano connect to Macbook via midi + Pianoteq or a VST + iReal, the output of the macbook connect to external monitors. My teacher can hear exactly what I'm hearing and with no latency.



“To send light into the darkness of men’s hearts - such is the duty of the artist.”
- Robert Schumann

Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 24
M
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
M
Joined: Sep 2018
Posts: 24
Originally Posted by TonyDIGITAL
Hello fellow pianists taking online lessons:

does anyone use this combination: pianoteq (or any VST) + mic in ableton live (or any DAW) that need to to fed to Zoom so that you can speak / demonstrate to your online teacher in Zoom and Co?

I could get it work using a MacBook + audio interface + Blackhole aggregate device to mix / combine in- / output but on a Windows 10 machine I'm struggling to get it done.

On Windows I'm currently trying with Voicemeeter / VB cable as aggregate devices but still no success.

Thanks in advance for sharing!

FWIW I've had success with using Soundflower* with Ableton Live on Mac without the need for any external devices. You can setup highly customized virtual routings of your audio signals. (*not M1 compatible)

Soundflower was always open source but got abandoned for a while. A company called Rogue Amoeba was supposed to maintain it but didn't. Apparently they offer their own audio routing program called Loopback but I haven't tried it so I can't vouch for it. It looks easy to use but isn't free if that's important to you.

On Windows I've used a program called JACK Audio Connection Kit which more or less works the same way as Soundflower.

You can find information about how to set them up on their respective sites. Hope that helps!


Current family:
Kawai K-500
Kawai CA98
Fischer Grand (~1927)

Estranged lover:
Boston GP-178
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
T
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
T
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
Thanks for your advices.
I'll keep trying and report back once I've found any reliable solution(s).
Cheers


[Kawai VPC1 / ES100 - VSTs: VSL 280VC, Garritan CFX, VI Labs Ravenscroft 275 & Pianoteq 7 - Ableton Live Lite - Presonus iOne/iTwo - Tascam US1x2/2x2- Sennheiser HD700/6xx - Presonus E5+T10, iloud micro monitors]
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
T
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
T
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
Just an update regarding my attempt of getting voice / VST send to Zoom on a Windows 10 computer: I got it working with Voicemeeter Standard and Ableton Live 11 just fine.
Settings is a little different compared to MacOS but basically Voicemeeter functions as an Aggregate device with 8 in- / 8 outputs.
Happy piano learning!


[Kawai VPC1 / ES100 - VSTs: VSL 280VC, Garritan CFX, VI Labs Ravenscroft 275 & Pianoteq 7 - Ableton Live Lite - Presonus iOne/iTwo - Tascam US1x2/2x2- Sennheiser HD700/6xx - Presonus E5+T10, iloud micro monitors]
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,655
C
6000 Post Club Member
Offline
6000 Post Club Member
C
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,655
Very good! I tried getting VoiceMeeter working on my PC, and latency was a serious problem.

I have a faster PC now -- I'll try it again . . . it's really useful, if it works.


. Charles
---------------------------
PX-350 / microKorg XL+ / Pianoteq
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
T
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
T
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
Originally Posted by Charles Cohen
I tried getting VoiceMeeter working on my PC, and latency was a serious problem
Are you using an Audio Interface? ASIO of Voicemeeter is linked to ASIO of the interface and make sure you have the same SampleRate set on Voicemeeter and the DAW as well as the same buffer size.
Also make sure to set "Do nothing" under the Windows "Sound"/"Communications" settings otherwise Windows will interfere.
I have Presonus Audiobox iOne / iTwo as well as Tascam US1x2 / US2x2 and all work just fine.

Last edited by TonyDIGITAL; 10/23/21 06:01 AM.

[Kawai VPC1 / ES100 - VSTs: VSL 280VC, Garritan CFX, VI Labs Ravenscroft 275 & Pianoteq 7 - Ableton Live Lite - Presonus iOne/iTwo - Tascam US1x2/2x2- Sennheiser HD700/6xx - Presonus E5+T10, iloud micro monitors]
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
J
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
Does your interface have loop back? I had a lot of latency and breakup with software solutions, and it was all solved when I switched to using hardware instead.
You just have pianoteq output to the interface, have the interface loop back pianoteq + mic, and have zoom input and output to the interface.
This way, your teacher hears pianoteq + mic, and you hear the pianoteq + teacher.
The only slight issue I had was the mic may pick up pianoteq via the speakers, so the teacher may hear some “reverb”. This is easily solved by using headphones, or by carefully placing the mic so the null point faces the speakers.

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
T
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
T
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 189
Originally Posted by JoeF
Does your interface have loop back?...
No, unfortunately all of my four interfaces don't have that feature.
Currently the cheapest one with that feature I know of is the Tascam US1x2HR for $120. The Scarlett 4i4 has it also for $240 but has additional output 3/4 for even more flexibility.
Right now the software solution with Voicemeeter on Windows or Blackhole on MacOS seem to be reliable enough for Zoom.

Last edited by TonyDIGITAL; 10/23/21 07:46 PM.

[Kawai VPC1 / ES100 - VSTs: VSL 280VC, Garritan CFX, VI Labs Ravenscroft 275 & Pianoteq 7 - Ableton Live Lite - Presonus iOne/iTwo - Tascam US1x2/2x2- Sennheiser HD700/6xx - Presonus E5+T10, iloud micro monitors]
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
J
Full Member
Offline
Full Member
J
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 28
Glad you got it working using just software.

I had the opposite experience. Blackhole, Loopback, all had audio breakup after running for a few minutes. I tried switching between Zoom, FaceTime, different # channels, bit rates, 16/24/32 bits, and nothing worked until I finally routed via a hardware interface. It’s been rock solid ever since, and I got better sound than the built-in DAC as a bonus.

I’m guessing that the reason why I had much different results than you is because I’m running on a very old 2015 MacBook Pro.


Moderated by  Piano World 

Link Copied to Clipboard
What's Hot!!
Pianos - Organs - & Keyboards, Oh My!
My first professionally recorded piece
---------------------
Visit Maine, Meet Mr. Piano World
---------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
PianoDisc

PianoDisc
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Mason & Hamlin Pianos
New Topics - Multiple Forums
A Steinway that sounds like a Bechstein?
by cygnusdei - 12/08/21 09:55 AM
Piano height
by Dantheboogieguy - 12/08/21 07:57 AM
Another question on monitors
by Ubu - 12/08/21 07:44 AM
Music Books by Glen Rose
by john fh - 12/08/21 05:35 AM
First time vst...need your input
by Tiva - 12/08/21 05:32 AM
Download Sheet Music
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Forum Statistics
Forums42
Topics210,443
Posts3,151,422
Members103,555
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers

Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads



 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | MapleStreetMusicShop.com - Our store in Cornish Maine


© copyright 1997 - 2021 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5