2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
55 members (cygnusdei, beginagain, CentauriB, BarryR, An Old Square, 12 invisible), 594 guests, and 462 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
ediegus Offline OP
OP Offline
E
I start this thread to comment on my experience with Yamaha NU1X. I've had it for three months now. I am an amateur pianist with an intermediate level and I owned a Yamaha Clavinova CLP-120 for 16 years. In the last years I used it with Pianoteq constantly. To change model I decided to study the market among the different brands and models and now I want to expose the keys of my choice:

Action: starting from a very proven mechanics and with good overall result as was the GH (and its subsequent updates GH3, NWX) I was aiming for a clear improvement both in sensations and in long term results. I consider that the GH action was good at the time but is now totally outdated. It is hard action and the metal spring effect totally takes you away from the acoustic feel. Also the constant breakage of white keys made me think about the new action being a full wood key which forced me to rule out a new Clavinova and Grandtouch: the key is still plastic mounted on a plastic frame.