2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (brdwyguy, Carey, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Dalem01, danno858, 11 invisible), 1,894 guests, and 290 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#3159378 09/25/21 09:35 AM
S
OP Offline
S
This is about recording, not a piano question, but I do not know where to ask. I have basic knowledge about recording, have been using USB mics for a while.
Now I start to record with a pair of Rode M5 with Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 interface.

The sound quality is excellent, but it seems the mic got saturated easily at the loudest sound. I am recording a Steinway B grand piano in a small studio room. The sound is LOUD. I tried to adjust the gains both on interface and on computer, even trying to move mic a little further away (the space is really tight), but nothing seems to help much.

On the other hand, the cheap mic on my camera seems to work fine (not saturated). I am now curious, is it because the dynamic range of M5 is small, or I did something wrong?

Last edited by scientistplayspian; 09/25/21 09:35 AM.
H
6000 Post Club Member
Online Content
6000 Post Club Member
H
You should ask this on the Piano Forum.

Unless you are looking for a solution to voice down your Steinway. But I don’t think it would make much difference for the recording level.

C
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
C
FWIW (I have no Rode M5 experience) --

Rode says the M5 will saturate at 140 dB. That's jet-engine-noise level, and you couldn't stand to be in the same room with the piano.

. . . So the mic isn't saturating.

The obvious question is: