2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
79 members (Andrew E., Ben Crosland, Afdent11, Alfred La Fleur, accordeur, anotherscott, AWilley, Adagiette, 16 invisible), 1,757 guests, and 533 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
pb2k Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Hi all, I am new to these forums so will start with am introduction.

I am a Dutch computer engineer having years of experience hammering on keyboards in frustration, and I love classic piano music. Due to last years global crisis, like the most of us, I can spend much more time at home. I have no prior music experience, which I thought is a miss. So I endeavoured on a life long journey and picked up piano lessons. I have bought a Yamaha CLP-635.

I chose this small digital piano because it was just 2 years old, fits my novice budget, pretty polished ebony, , has the grand piano sound banks, fits under a painting and being able to practice in silence will save my family's ears. I figured my hardware needs will change as my skills develop.

The question : When I tested the piano I didn't notice that it has a very loud 'thud'. When the volume is down I do not hear the sound. This thud increases as I increase the volume so I figure it is not a mechanical issue and can perhaps even be reduced by a setting on the piano's control panel. The thudding happens while on speaker and on headphones.