2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (20/20 Vision, 36251, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, 9 invisible), 1,447 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
OP Offline
L
Hi everyone,

Newbie here to the forum.

What does everyone think about $2500 for a Kawai K3 produced in 2007? The seller said it was from 2009 so I assume she bought it in 2009. She said it was not used often.

Is K3 very different from K300? The Piano will be used for a young kid to start lessons and I am hoping I won't need to upgrade in the first few years (if she likes lessons that is). The piano teacher I consulted with prefers Yamaha to Kawai so she is telling me the price is reasonable but not a great deal.

Thanks everyone!

Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
I can't comment on the particular model, but the price/value of a used piano is based almost entirely on its condition. The fact that "it was not used often" doesn't indicate that it has been cared for or maintained over the last 12 years or so. Piano prices vary from area to area, from market to market and you don't say where you are located which could be a factor in pricing. Have you factored in the cost of delivery and set up in your home?

Strange to say, but it is true that many piano teachers know little about pianos as far as brands, manufacture and maintenance are concerned. So the fact that the piano teacher you consulted prefers Yamaha over Kawai is, to me, meaningless.