2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Adam Reynolds, AlkansBookcase, APianistHasNoName, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 8 invisible), 1,592 guests, and 250 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
OP Offline
C
Hello everyone,

Back with one of my favorite pieces of all time: Waltz No. 3 in A minor (Op. 34 No. 2). Never thought that when I started playing piano three years ago, that I would be able to play it by now. The waltz is second in the opus 34 series and belongs to the "Grand Valses Brillante". It was Chopin's most favorite own composition. Please, enjoy the video!

Last edited by ContentPiano; 09/19/21 06:30 AM.
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
I'm not sure Chopin ever said this was his favorite composition. I remember reading it was his favorite waltz, although I don't know if he said that after he had written most of his waltzes. My suggestion would be to work on the rhythm by practicing it with a metronome. There are many places where the rhythm is unsteady perhaps either because of technical issues or not focusing on this. After the piece is very steady you can add some rubato.

Are you self taught or do you have a teacher?

I also don't remember seeing it said that this was his favorite piece, but hey, I don't know that it wasn't! grin

To me your playing of the piece is quite good, and quite interesting.
Let me put the praise this way (and then I'll say what a couple of 'issues' are, which I'll be interested to know if you know they are).