2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
33 members (beeboss, eddiepiano, cygnusdei, chopin_r_us, Animisha, bxrdad1, drumour, 8 invisible), 1,108 guests, and 730 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3153370 09/05/21 01:39 PM
K
OP Offline
K
Hey Folks, I've been an amateur pianist on and off for most of my life. Getting close to retiring from a career in electrical engineering. What are your thoughts on taking up a second career in tuning/technician-ing? I know it's possible but is it practical? Would a newly minted, inexperienced tuner/technician at the age of 62 or so be likely to get many customers?

I have the resources at this point to invest in good training and high-quality tools. I would probably need to take around 100 cases (very coarse estimate) to recover my investment, but even working part time seems like one could probably do that in year or two.

I would greatly appreciate any thoughts, suggestions, warnings, etc. from those who have been there and done that. Thanks.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
G
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
G
Go for it.