2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (Cheeeeee, Dalem01, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, 6 invisible), 2,085 guests, and 339 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
C
Csj24 Offline OP
OP Offline
C
I keep hearing people talk about sight reading on here and it always confuses me a little. Why do people go on about practicing sight reading so much? How else would you read a piece of music? If you're painstakingly picking it out it seems like a problem unless you're an absolute beginner or attempting pieces way beyond your skill level. Or does it mean the ability to play something through with no mistakes the very first time? It seems like it should be easy to play something through the first time if it's at your level, but playing something through with zero mistakes is difficult before you've gotten a feel for it (esp fingering). I feel like I must be missing something.

T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T
Sight-reading refer to reading any piece of music the first time. Depending on how proficient someone can read music, the accuracy varies. It is not a requirement that you play every note accurately the first time unless you drop the tempo way down. If you already played the piece through at least once, it's not considered sight-reading.

Being able to sight-read means you can learn a piece faster. When trying a difficult piece you're not going to pick up all the nuances the first time. You may even be dropping notes in between.