2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
52 members (bcalvanese, AlkansBookcase, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, ChickenBrother, Carey, accordeur, 1957, 10 invisible), 2,129 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3140584 07/26/21 12:57 AM
T
OP Offline
T
I've seen it referred to here and there, but for a while I didn't really "get it"

Now I'm studying anatomy and one day after learning the structure and actions of the forearm it just clicked better.

But when I've tried to incorporate it with piano, it feels very awkward sometimes. I'm sure a bunch of repetition is needed, but am I the only one who feels less control and accuracy?

I know health-wise it's not ideal but I feel so much more precision stretching my pinky and thumb to reach a note.

When are the best times to use it? Is it correct to say this technique is used a lot in advanced pieces? And if so, how do you use it with such accuracy in fast passages with lots of big reaches?

Summary:
-Am I the only one who feels uncoordinated using forearm rotation?
-Is it something you want to be trying to use most/all the time? Or is there very specific instances it is called for?
-How do you use it at a fast tempo, accurately?

Thanks in advance for all insight!

N
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
N
---

Last edited by Nahum; 07/26/21 01:46 AM.
N
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
N

from 6:21

The movement of the underside of the triangles reflects the rotation of the arms. Notice the size of the movements and how they interact with the movements of each finger.

S
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
S