2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, 8 invisible), 1,218 guests, and 328 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 446 of 452 1 2 444 445 446 447 448 451 452
S
S
Hi there, I just wanted to post here since I started playing the piano 3 days ago, using Alfred's AIO Level 1. I reached and played Rock Along and Mexican Hat Dance (page 21) today. I also used a metronome for the first time today, playing both melodies at 80bpm. I'm taking it slow and try to let everything that the book mentions soak in. I'm having a lot of fun playing and figuring out the notes. smile I was worried a bit when I heard that Alfred's Level 1 focuses more on left-hand chords and tends to "neglect" the left hand otherwise, so I ordered Faber's Adult Piano Adventures AIO Book 1 today and I plan to work through both books simultaneously.

Last edited by Sloth; 03/08/21 11:44 AM.
N
N
I think Alfred's Book 1 demands left hand independence fairly early in the book, then gets more demanding later on. I find the left hand work in Alfred's to be more complicated than Faber's Book 1. Yes, there are several songs in Alfred's where your left hand is playing chords, but you need good grounding in chord patterns anyway. Plus those chords are sometimes broken, sometimes played in different rhythms, not always in a familiar sequence. Plenty challenging for a beginner.

J
J
I've finally finished book 1!!!!