2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
50 members (CodySean, brdwyguy, accordeur, CaseyVancouver, 12 invisible), 459 guests, and 426 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Offline
Hi, I am a self teaching adult beginner who got his piano about one month ago with zero experience. I want to learn some pieces from sheet music. And I want to play some of my favorite songs. (Good for motivation grin.) Now I got my hands on Forrest Gump Feather Theme and the first notes didn't sound right. Until I had a closer look at the base line: It is written in treble clef instead of base clef. Many lines later, the sheet music switches to treble/base clef and then back to treble/treble again. I started to "translate" the entire sheet to treble/base notation. Just for fun. And for becoming familiar with score writing software...

Can anyone explain WHY Alan Silvestri wrote the sheet music in treble/treble clef for piano, please? confused I am sure there is a good reason to do so, but I simply don't get it (yet).

Adult Beginner, Kawai CN29
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content