2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
34 members (Consul50, Chris888, brennbaer, Beansparrow, deadlymajesty, ColoRodney, aphexdisklavier, clothearednincompo, 10 invisible), 454 guests, and 422 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3088361 03/02/21 04:39 AM
EB5AGV Offline OP
OP Offline
I am an amateur Cubase Pro 11 user and enjoy composing small pieces on it, using mainly my piano VSTs. I have found a pesky problem with audio levels.

I have my system configured as follows: as audio interface I use a Yamaha MG10XU mixer, which includes USB audio, connected to JBL LSR 305 monitors. To set my reference level, I put all gain controls on the MG10XU to 0dB and then, using an audio track of a pop song (checked with several), adjusted the gain on the monitors to have a powerful enough sound.

But then, when using a piano VST, setting all mixer levels in Cubase to default (0dB), and even volume on the VST to maximum (example: 0dB on VSL Synchron pianos), audio is pretty low.

I understand pop music is mixed adding plenty of compression... But doing that with piano recordings, while works somewhat, seems to me as a bad idea.

I am sure some of you record using DAWs and I hope I am just missing some basic point here!

Thanks for your help!

Jose

Yamaha U3H
Kawai VPC1
...plus some other DPs, synths, controllers and VSTs

[Linked Image]