2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
56 members (brendon, c++, CaseyVancouver, Beowulf, brdwyguy, bsntn99, 15 invisible), 532 guests, and 430 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
OP Offline
J
I've been learning piano for nearly a year now mostly 'self taught' due to Covid. I say self taught but I've been rigorously working through Piano Marvel (just completed 3A Method and Technique) and Fabers Accelerated Piano Adventures for Adults (finished Book 1) supplemented with some YouTubers who do recordings for the Faber books (Piano with Beth and Let's Play Piano Methods and SuperMANgino). So I'm happy with my progress and I'm enjoying it, but there are things that I'm sure I'm not doing well and perhaps my technique is poor. I did have lessons for about 3 months previously as an adult, so I at least have reasonably ok hand/finger positioning.

I'm considering online lessons and I'd like to get an idea of they best place to find an instructor. I would rather not spend a fortune, but maybe $25 for 30 minutes a week? Is that a reasonable time/cost? I have no idea.... (I hope that wasn't insulting... my local church teacher teaches kids for $7 per 1/2 hour though I'm sure that's very very low. Rural community.)