2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 11 invisible), 1,855 guests, and 264 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3074146 01/26/21 04:31 AM
P
pd112 Offline OP
OP Offline
P
So I am a complete newbie who wants to learn the piano. I have been spending unreasonable amounts of time trying to figure which DP to get, the problem is since I dont have any experience playing piano, I really dont know how judge if a given action is good or not. Below are the options that I am considering:
1. ES110 (tried at a local store):
Good:
- Sounds seems good.
- The action seemed easiest (less resistance)
Bad:
- The keys were a bit "bouncy" after left it seemed bounce bit before settling. No idea if its good or bad but intuition is this probably shouldnt happen (this also happened on es920 the dealership had to a lesser degree though).
- I saw some review which said this action is least like a grand piano. Is this true, would I learn incorrect behaviour if i learnt to play on this?

2. FP30 (tried at a local store):
Good:
- The sound was decent too.
- Action wasnt bouncy.
Bad:
- The action required more effort (was heavier), less natural than es110 to me. Not sure if this is how a grand piano feels or if this is better for learner.

- This seems like a really bad time to pick fp30 since fp30x is around the corner for not too much more but no idea when it will actually be available. Either way seems like the prudent thing would be to wait i.e. postpone this purchase.