2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
68 members (8ude, Chouca, BlakeOR, AlphaBravoCharlie, Carey, 23 invisible), 498 guests, and 525 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
R
OP Offline
R
Hi

I am a complete beginner and trying to learn the piano. What are some recommendations for books to buy for self trained beginner like myself?

Great forum BTW

Thanks

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
A
A
Good luck,it’s a wonderful journey you have begun.
You’re going to hear this over and over again-try starting with a teacher as soon as you can. I went for four years without a teacher and thought I was doing well, but I kept coming upon roadblocks and when I did start with a teacher he had me pull everything back. I know a lot of us prefer to go it alone,but you will progress so much quicker and play with so much more skill if you start with a teacher. I’ve discovered this time and again over a course of over twenty years.

Good luck and enjoy!

Silver Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
Silver Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
Alfred's series, Piano for Dummies.

“To send light into the darkness of men’s hearts - such is the duty of the artist.”
- Robert Schumann

W
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
W
These 2 are very popular for self-learners:

Alfred’s Adult All-In-One

Faber’s Adult All-In-One